Legislative Branch

Legislature is represented by the National Congress, composed of the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate, with co-legislative and oversight powers. Congress was dissolved after the military coup in September 1973 and reinstated on March 11, 1990.

Currently, 120 Deputies are elected in 60 districts and 38 Senators in 19 districts. In each district and region, the parties and alliances of parties present slates with two candidates. The two with the highest individual pluralities are elected.

Only if the leading slate receives twice as many votes as the runner-up are both candidates elected.

If you need more information about the Chamber of Deputies, please visit www.camara.cl

The web site for finding out information about the Senate iswww.senado.cl